Monuments to visit near Querença
Loulé Castle Museum (open to the public) - on the right, foto of the castle walls
Coordinates: 37 ° 08,369 'N 8 ° 01,428' W
Loulé Castle is located in the city of the same name, Parish of St. Clement (Loulé), Municipality of Loulé, Faro District, Portugal.
What remains of the castle and its walls attests to the importance it had in the Islamic context, or by the size of the wall or the relevance of art and archaeological materials identified.
Loulé Castle History
The early human occupation of the site of Loulé back to prehistoric times, as the archaeological remains.
During antiquity, intensified the contacts of peoples of the region with browsers Phoenicians and Carthaginians, who founded the first factories in the coastline of County (Carter), increases the activity and commercial fishing, and prospecting for metals. The period of the Roman conquest of the Iberian Peninsula came to us the testimony of an era votive reused in the tower of the church.
From the eighth century with the Muslim invasion of the Iberian Peninsula, formed Al'-Ulya, said on the eve of the Christian Reconquest, the chronicles of Ibne Abd Aluhaid Saíde and, as a small fortified medina and prosperous, belonging to the United de Niebla, under the command of Taifa Ibne Mohammed. This structure Almohad left us watchtower in mud (Tower of Sail).
Loulé Castle Medieval period
In 1249, the day of St. Clement, the forces of King Afonso III (1248-1279) captured the town with the help of the Knights of Santiago, under the command of Master D. Paio Peres Correia.
Turned high home to the county charter in 1266, by decret of the king D. Dinis the village and its fields was given to the Order of Santiago (1280), after giving it a great fair, lasting a fortnight in the month of September (1291).
In the context of the crisis of 1383-1385, the town was also facing difficulties, according to the testimony of the Lord Chamberlain John Afonso, whereby Loulé was quite uninhabited, the desert was his castle walls and inside there were plenty of slums (Proceedings town council, 1385). Reports even ran in the County the news that the forces of Castile were preparing to enter Portugal. Given the sensitivity of the information and to prevent a possible attack, the town council decided to repair the tower surmounted the port of Faro and raise the walls and battlements of the southern flank around the village. Sensitive to this state of affairs, the king D. John I (1385-1433) granted special privileges to the people the end of the village to live inside the grounds and donated the slum opposite the Church of St. Clement, for construction of a churchyard.
With the cycle of the Portuguese discoveries, the Algarve region, experienced a resurgence of economic growth, which also benefited from Loulé, exporting wine, olive oil, fruit and dried fish and salt. Thanks to these features, from 1422, the castle walls were rebuilt by D. Henrique de Meneses, 1st Earl of Loulé.
During the Philippine Dynasty, mapping the Algarve defenses made between the years 1617-1618 by the military engineer and architect Alexander Neapolitan Massai, the Castelo de Loulé listed as having most of the damaged walls in mud and noise (in the description of the Algarve kingdom ..., 1621).
From the kingdom Restoration to the present day
After the ndependence restoration, before the evolution of artillery, the castle lost its defensive value. Thus, urban growth was gradually absorbing the ancient walls, a process that accelerated after the damage inflicted by the 1755 earthquake that destroyed most of the village. The castle towers collapsed, as well as large sections of the wall. The reconstruction of the urban privileged residential sectors, where and palatial began to stand out.
In the nineteenth century were divided into plots and occupied for residential and commercial areas addorsed the walls of the castle, of which some parts were demolished.
The remnants of the castle are classified as National Monument by Decree published on 28 June 1924.
After the work of conservation and restoration efforts in the twentieth century, set inside the castle is used as the archaeological museum and a library hall.