Forte de São João do Arade (São João do Arade Fortess) - Ferragudo - Lagoa
St João do Arade Fortress, also known as Castle of St. João do Arade, or simply as Castle of Arade, in Algarve, located in the village and parish of Ferragudo, Lagoa, district of Faro in Portugal.
In a dominant position over the town, at the end of the river, its elevation divides two beaches: the beach Angrinha and Praia Grande. Cooperated with the Fort of Santa Catarina de Ribamar, on the other side (Portimão), to defend the estuary of the Arade river.
The original fort site dates back to a watchtower built in the reign of King El Rey Dom João II (1481-1495). Later, when the village of Ferragudo was founded (1520), believed to have been surrounded by a defensive wall built on the remains of another, older, probably dating from the time of the tower construction
The seventeenth century Fortress
According to the report of Alexander Massai, the wall still existed in 1621, refers about "a surrounded site called Ferragudo (description of the Kingdom of the Algarve ..., 1621).
In order to protect that estuary, before the village, downstream, on a high rock, was erected a bulwark strapped, around 1643.
The strength of the elements (storms and tides), culminating in a violent storm in 1669 caused severe damage to the castle.
Repaired in 1754, an inspection performed by the Governor of the Kingdom of the Algarve, D. Rodrigo de Noronha and Antonio Meneses, the fort was considered in perfect condition. Then presented two batteries of artillery:
Low Battery, with three artillery pieces;
High Battery, four artillery pieces.
In the following year, was severely damaged by the earthquake of 1755, including the foundations. In 1765 a new report realized that all its acomodations were in ruins, having been spent 80 $ 000 reis in its rebuilding.
From Nineteenth century to the present
After the Convention of Évora Monte, the Fortress had fallen in decadence and was disqualified in 1896.
At the end of the nineteenth century was used as a literary salon in the evocation of St. John the Baptist. It was later sold at auction for the amount of 600 $ 000 reis.
In the early twentieth century, as private property, the poet Coelho Carvalho promoted to extensive renovation work and residence, which gave the current conformation.
Still in private hands, is classified by the Portuguese Institute of Architectural Heritage (IPPAR) since 1975.
It is well preserved, with a large garden surrounded by walls from the Praia da Angrinha to Praia Grande. It also includes a large house with several sets of turreted walls in various plan
Its open to the public
Nearby: Lagos, Portimão, Albufeira, Quinta do Lago, Vale do Garrão, Vilamoura, Loulé, Querença
Do you like our blog?
Please comment and add the AddThis social networks via the button below