Almodôvar is a Portuguese town in the district of Beja, Alentejo region and sub-region of Alentejo, with about 3 600 inhabitants.
It is the seat of a municipality with 775.88 kilometers ² and 7 442 people (2006), subdivided into 8 districts. It is bordered to the north by the Municipality of Castro Verde, Beja in the east, southeast of Alcoutim, on the south by Loulé (Algarve), southwest of Silves (Algarve) and at the west and northwest by Ourique.
Geography (Hidrology) Rivers: Rio Mira, Rio Vascão, Ribeira de Oeiras, Ribeira de Cobres, Ribeira de Odelouca
The origin of Almodovar is diluted in the light of the fields of Alentejo. Among stories and legends is difficult to assign to the village, with precision, an origin, a culture and time. In fact, it was a lot of diferent cultures and people who passed through the Iberian Peninsula and marked with the weight of their culture, the Alentejo region. Almodovar, however, appears for the first time marked on the maps in time for the Arabs or Muslims, with the name of Al-Mudur. Almodovar is the corruption of the Arabic word Al-Mudur which means "the round thing, or enclosed in the round. And, in fact, Almodovar was rebuilt by the Arabs in the seventh century, when the village was surrounded by walls and built a castle, whose remains, however, disappeared.
Almodovar was given to the`Order of Santiago, by Provincial Order of the King EL Rey Dinis in April 17, 1285, which demonstrates that this town since that time was an important center.
The King El Rey Dinis, in this Provincial Letter, gived Almodovar's place, great powers including "to the people, to not to pay taxes nowhere," nor in "the cattle of the village" as stated in the Book of
Rules of Verdes and Montados (Greens and mounted).
Later, the King El Rey Dom Manuel I, on June 1, 1512 gave new Charter to the town, confirming and extending the privileges granted by Dom Dinis This new charter given more privileges, exemptions.
The church is the most imposing monument of the town of Almodôvar, in the simplicity of its Tuscan columns, the altars of wealth and grandeur of the altar, built by El Rey Don Juan V.
But for Almodovar, there is an event of great value and object of great esteem and pride, it is the existence here of the first kind of a University of Theology in southern Portugal, who ran the convent of Our Lady. Part of the Library of this University is on the City Council Hall.
The monastery that still exists today was founded in 1680 by Frey José Evangelista, retired professor of the University with the property he inherited from his parents. Launched the first stone on 2 September 1680.
Despite the rich history of Almodôvar Municipality, is the by the affection that deepen and internalize all the appearances of the past, away from the stereotypes of the modern world. Almodovar remains faithful to its origins, its traditions and its history.
The parishes of Almodovar are as follows:
Senhora do Rosário de Padrões